Texas Bike Tours Reviews

Excellent Riding

Deaton is a true gem. She went above and beyond to create the perfect cycling trip for myself, my sister, and my mom. She is such a kind and generous soul, and went out of her way to make sure our every need and want was met! We are fairly experienced cyclists and Deaton planned an excellent 5 day road riding trip for us. She arranged a couple of awesome guides and planned rides both in Austin and in the Texas Hill Country around Fredericksburg. Our guides were excellent riders and excellent company! They took the time to show us places of interest and perfectly adjusted the level of difficulty of the riding to our abilities. Austin is such a vibrant city with excellent riding in the adjacent neighborhoods and Texas Hill Country is a beautiful place to ride. I would highly recommend Texas Bike Tours to anyone interested in cycling near Austin, Texas!

March 9, 2018 | Google+
Ellen Hosford

Wonderful Day

We four Canadians spent a wonderful day with Deaton and Jasmine on one of her custom-curated 4 hour bike tours. A great combination of culture, hospitality, history and riding gave us a great start to our 5 day vacation in Austin. Enjoyed every minute, thanks Deaton and Jasmine!

March 15, 2018 | Google+
Marc Desroch

Austin Bike Tour

If you want a personalized bike tour, this is your place. Tour guide knows the city so well she can take you to little known areas or you can it see the well known touristy spots if you’re visiting from out of town. Deaton gives you all the history from a local’s perspective. Another option we loved was renting the bikes downtown at the start of the tour. Gel pads are available to ensure a comfortable ride. Overall, a great time!

November 24, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Kathy Finley

Great Mountain Biking in Austin

My group of four guys were lucky enough to book a mountain bike tour with Texas Bike Tours. They were fantastic to deal with, and took us on a great ride. From my first interaction with Deaton, the owner, it was awesome. She made sure we had the bikes we needed in the right size and even with the right pedals. The ride was an escorted ride on the Barton Creek trail, close to the bike shop. We had a blast.

When I got home I realized that I had changed clothes in the bike shop and left my dress shirt there. Deaton was nice enough to mail it back to me and was so kind. She even included bike key rings for all of us! I would strongly recommend Texas Bike Tours if you are looking for a great ride in Austin!! 

October 13, 2017 | Trip Adviser
James Doug Warren

What to do with 12 family members in town?

Take a bike tour, that’s what! We contacted Texas Bike Tours and arranged a family outing. A number of participants were from out of town. Where do you get bikes for all? Not to worry, Deaton, the tour company owner got the stats on what we needed and had the bikes and helmets waiting for us. We arrived in Hyde Park, a picturesque neighborhood in Central Austin. Met Deaton, our two tour guides, got the tour lowdown, donned our helmets and we were off. We headed through neighborhoods, then east of town, to a fantastic trail system, winding up in downtown Austin to a wonderful catered meal and libations. The tour guides were patient, knowledgeable about Austin and more than accommodating to our requests. We snapped photos at iconic spots in Austin, rode along the river and into Zilker Park, ending up at another wonderful park in downtown Austin. Great time, great adventure, great food, great family memories. I highly recommend Texas Bike Tours.

March 13, 2016 | Google+
Sadie Winkstern

Perfect way to preview Austin!

This was an amazing tour that was customized not only to fit the locations we wanted to see, but matched to our personalities. Through email correspondence, Deaton learned about our group (two couples) and laid out the perfect route for us. The route included some of the tourist hotspots, but even better, included off the beaten path sights that suited us well.

Deaton met us with bikes, helmets, water, and a tasty granola bar ready to go. She was so upbeat and friendly. She was as excited about us going on the tour as we were. Every detail was pre-planned and executed by Deaton. We did not have to do anything but show up!

Jacob was our personal tour guide. He was incredibly friendly and did a wonderful job taking us around the city. He gave us great information about the sites we were seeing. He made the tour so much fun, We really didn’t want the tour to end!

We booked this tour for the first morning of our 3 day stay. We learned quickly that this was a smart move. Many of the places we visited during our stay were already pointed out on the bike tour. It made Austin feel comfortable to us, and we even looked into some of the fun Austin locales based on what we saw on the tour.

We ended our tour at a brewery, per our request. Deaton met us in the parking lot with cool, rosemary scented cloths to refresh ourselves with, along with an awesome, locally crafted, and designed by Jacob, bicycle key ring to keep as a memento of our ride. Deaton and Jacob returned our bikes for us, again, doing all of the work.

In addition to everything, Jacob took photographs of our group throughout the tour. By the end of the day, we had a link to a Google Drive folder with all of the photos, for no additional charge!

Texas Bike Tour provides more than just a tour. It is a personal experience suited to meet your needs and desires. We found a diamond here! The tour was the highlight of our trip!

 

May 26, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Renee Wilcox

Best road bike guides on a bike tour.

This group of friends take annual road cycling trips all over the world. Temecula, Solvang, Tucson, and Italy are a few trips they mentioned. They enjoyed the TXBT custom-routes designed with their cycling experience and comfort with cycling in mind, the SAG wagon that followed with the nutrition they enjoyed, and the camaraderie they developed with the local guides. The two guides in Austin and the two guides in Fredericksburg all agreed that this was a fun group to guide. The two lead cyclists in the group offered to be a reference for us. Their contact information will be provided upon request. One is with a technology company and the other is with a large law firm. 

September 24, 2016 | Website
Deaton Bednar

Wonderful Austin Overview

Deaton is the most engaged bike tour operator we have experienced anywhere. Her objective is to get every detail just right so her clients have a memorable experience. We have been quite satisfied with bike tours we have taken in cities all over the world, despite most of them being “cookie cutter” and many time in groups. Deaton’s tour will require a little more of your time up front as she wants to get it just right for you, but it’s worth it. She also has access to comfortable bikes, provides water and a snack, some photos of you along the way….overall, a really wonderful experience.

February 21, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Tom Klein

The Best Mother-Daughter Trip!

I chose Fredericksburg to spend two days with my daughter and another mother/daughter based on Trip Advisor’s reviews…and I can’t say enough about our experience with Texas Bike Tours! From my initial contact, Deaton went above and beyond to customize our bike/culinary experience. down to the gluten-free granola bars, mint water in our bottles and cold rosemary towels upon our return. Chuck did an awesome job as our tour guide by giving us the opportunity to see the “real” Fredericksburg; charming, quaint and hospitable! And Bill Varney of UrbanHerbal created the most fabulous culinary experience with a luncheon in his greenhouse that he shared the recipes and cooking tips for; in addition to sampling all of his handmade aromatherapy and skin care products which we all ended up buying. This day couldn’t have been more perfect and provided us with the most wonderful memories, thanks to the photos taken by both Chuck & Deaton!

April 20, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Jane DeSimone

Perfect way to see the city!

Deaton is so attentive to every detail of your tour. She plans the route based on your personal interests, whether it be history, art, nature, or food trucks! Also, Linda was such a knowledgeable and enjoyable guide. We would have never seen so much of the city in a weekend if we did not take this tour. Seeing this city from the biking trails gives you good insight to the wonderful outdoor quality of life that Austin enjoys.

February 18, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Rae Ann Van Pelt