Texas Bike Tours Reviews

The Best Mother-Daughter Trip!

I chose Fredericksburg to spend two days with my daughter and another mother/daughter based on Trip Advisor’s reviews…and I can’t say enough about our experience with Texas Bike Tours! From my initial contact, Deaton went above and beyond to customize our bike/culinary experience. down to the gluten-free granola bars, mint water in our bottles and cold rosemary towels upon our return. Chuck did an awesome job as our tour guide by giving us the opportunity to see the “real” Fredericksburg; charming, quaint and hospitable! And Bill Varney of UrbanHerbal created the most fabulous culinary experience with a luncheon in his greenhouse that he shared the recipes and cooking tips for; in addition to sampling all of his handmade aromatherapy and skin care products which we all ended up buying. This day couldn’t have been more perfect and provided us with the most wonderful memories, thanks to the photos taken by both Chuck & Deaton!

April 20, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Jane DeSimone

Perfect way to see the city!

Deaton is so attentive to every detail of your tour. She plans the route based on your personal interests, whether it be history, art, nature, or food trucks! Also, Linda was such a knowledgeable and enjoyable guide. We would have never seen so much of the city in a weekend if we did not take this tour. Seeing this city from the biking trails gives you good insight to the wonderful outdoor quality of life that Austin enjoys.
February 18, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Rae Ann Van Pelt

An amazing way to spend your day!!!

From the first point of contact it is clear that owner Deaton Bednar desires to give her clientele an experience they will remember forever. Not only is she a literal hive of information on all things “Austin” ( having lived there for over 35 years) but this is one funky cool lady!!!  
 
She has created multiple biking packages for every level of biking enthusiast which include the “romantic Austin” tour, the “Austin music scene and food truck” tour, and the “Austin Hill Country” tour. This year she created a new tour called the “roll and stroll” for those who may want to start out on the bikes and end with a brisk stroll/hike along the Austin Greenbelt and Barton Springs. Each tour is led by one of Deaton’s hand picked “pathfinders” who will guide you on your way, a stealth photographer who will take many candid shots, and a personal chef who whips up homemade snacks, a picnic lunch, and even a glass of bubbly or wine along the way…all tailored to your food tastes. If one of her pre-set tours doesn’t quite tickle your fancy, just tell her what you prefer and she will create an experience just for you!!!  
 
Trust me when I say that this is no ordinary bike tour and that it is quite possibly the best way ever to see and learn about a city I’ve ever encountered. By the end of your day on the bikes your brain will be full of interesting Austin facts and history, your body will feel strong and healthy, and your heart will be full and happy!!! What a perfect trifecta 🙂 

March 31, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Frankie

Bike Tour and Romantic Dinner for Two

I wanted to do something special for my husband’s birthday, and thought a bike tour would be a perfect way for us to share something he really enjoys. I connected with Deaton and explained what I was looking for – she took it from there and created an amazing experience that we can’t stop talking about! We had a two-hour bike tour through Fredericksburg, learning about the local history and culture from an interesting and knowledgeable tour guide. Chuck let us pick up the pace and slow down as we wished.

Then we headed to URBANherbal, which is an eclectic spot – including gardens, art gallery, herbal products shop, and greenhouse. Mr. Bill Varney hosted us for a delicious and amazing dinner of 4 courses, selected just for us! We were warm and cozy in the greenhouse, being served each course at a relaxed pace, surrounded by plants and artwork. The ambiance was perfect – and it became even more romantic as the night became darker and we were enveloped in a cone of light from the beautiful chandeliers. Bill brings such obvious passion to his cooking, and to the gardens, the art gallery and the products that he makes by hand. It is clear that he has found his calling, in taking care of people through food and art!

And Deaton and her crew take care of their customers as well! This is something we won’t forget – and are looking forward to more trips with Texas Bike Tours!!

February 4, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Diana Ramberansingh

Anniversary of Opposites

This was the best activity!  Deaton and her crew created a perfect experience!  I race bikes; my husband didn’t own a bike.  The experience was a 10 for both of us.  The history, the locations, the attention to detail was first rate! Every tour is unique and custom.  We had a special anniversary dinner prepared.  Again, first rate.  You must give it a try! 

January 28, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Lisa Michele

Bike the Texas Hill Country With Excellent Guides

Texas Bike Tours is an excellent professionally managed organization—the owner was on top of details and flexible with options. We wanted a half day Texas Hill Country bike ride and were blown away by the ride we did with guide Rob. Very little traffic, fantastic scenery and views, and a great lunch in the little town of Comfort at the end. We’ve biked with tour groups all over the world and this experience was one of our best. Five+ stars!

February 6, 2017 | Trip Adviser
Diane Flynt

Une excursion autour d’Austin

Quelle belle expérience, ce fut une des plus belles randonnées de l’année. Un accueil de Deaton avec son sourire, un guide des plus intéressantset expérimenté, et une fin de parcours avec une douceur, soit une serviette fraîche au romarin , du jamais vu.

Translation: What a great experience. It was one of the best rides of the year. My host Deaton with her smile, a  most interesting and experienced guide, and ending with a cool Rosemary-scented towel, something I’ve never seen. Perfect ride! Thank you.

December 1, 2016 | Trip Adviser
Helene Racine

“A beautiful way to see Austin.“

We had such a great time with Deaton today. There aren’t enough wonderful things to say, just an amazing experience! A must do in Austin!

December 28, 2016 | Trip Adviser
Jenifer Moore

“Austin by bicycle and so much more!”

Two separate rides. Two perfect experiences. One an evening into the night ride with Jacob filled with views of Austin and the river in the glow and radiance of pure reflected light, plus an abundance of Austin history and a multitude of Austin life-experienced shared. A delayed start time due to be being stuck in Austin traffic and feeling anything but peaceful all melted away as we pedaled along the river and I listened to Jacob’s stories of Austin. All was right with the world.
Day 2 was a ride that came with a request for hill-climbing from a cyclist that is not a racer but loves to ride and climb hills. Dennis put together a full-day ride that perfectly met my request. I was introduced to many of Austin’s road climbing hills and Dennis, who really enjoys racing, made me feel completely comfortable riding with me the entire day. The ride challenged me to be a better rider and a better hill-climber and fulfilled my requested ride perfectly. It was a privilege riding with Dennis.  I’m very grateful for the work that Deaton and her team are doing. These are amazing representatives of Austin
.

10/21/2016 | Trip Adviser
Bill Bell

“Awesome tour of Austin, got to see so much.”

We don’t usually write reviews but this tour was just awesome. We only had 2 days in Austin so Deaton organised a 6 hour ride that showed us so much of this lovely city. Jacob was an extremely knowledgeable guide and such a friendly person, which made the 6 hours pass so quickly but with no dull moments. The homemade granola bars were delicious. This tour was a real highlight of our two week visit to USA and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Austin.

11/02/2016 | Trip Adviser
Ellie Porteous